Fishermans Bend is Australia’s largest urban renewal project, covering approximately 480 hectares in the heart of Melbourne and connecting the CBD to the bay.

It is expected that by 2050, Fishermans Bend will be home to approximately 80,000 residents and provide employment for up to 80,000 people.

Fishermans Bend is made up of five precincts across two municipalities (the City of Melbourne and the City of Port Phillip):

  • Lorimer: a vibrant, mixed-use precinct close to the Yarra River and connected to Melbourne’s CBD, Docklands and emerging renewal areas
  • Montague: a diverse and well-connected mixed-used precinct celebrating its significant cultural and built heritage, and network of gritty streets and laneways
  • Wirraway: a family friendly inner city neighbourhood close to the bay and Westgate Park
  • Sandridge: one of Melbourne’s premium office and commercial centres, balanced with diverse housing and retail
  • Employment Precinct: Australia’s leading advanced manufacturing, engineering and design precinct centred around the Fishermans Bend Innovation Precinct at the former General Motors Holden site.

Fishermans Bend Taskforce

The Fishermans Bend Taskforce was established in January 2016 to lead the planning of the area and comprises members from the Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions.

The Taskforce works closely with the City of Melbourne and City of Port Phillip, the Fishermans Bend Development Board and the local community to bring the Fishermans Bend Framework to life and realise the vision for “a thriving place that is a leading example for environmental sustainability, liveability, connectivity, diversity and innovation.”

The Taskforce is developing:

  • four detailed neighbourhood precinct implementation plans for Lorimer, Montague, Wirraway and Sandridge
  • a Fishermans Bend Employment Precinct implementation plan
  • overarching Infrastructure Plan, including transport infrastructure, community infrastructure and open space, environment and water sensitive urban design responses and development contributions.

Fishermans Bend Development Board

The Fishermans Bend Development Board was established in 2018 to guide the planning and development of this landmark project for Melbourne. The Board guides engagement with the community, advising on precinct plans and major decisions for Fishermans Bend, supporting the growth of healthy, thriving neighbourhoods while creating new jobs.

The board is led by Ms Meredith Sussex AM as Chair. Ms Sussex is joined by a team of five experts in planning, industry, finance and transport: Ms Cheryl Batagol PSM, Ms Janet Bolitho, and Ms Susan Oliver AM.

In addition a Mayors Forum was established with the City of Melbourne and the City of Port Phillip, continuing the strong partnerships and collaboration integral to the success of the area.

Meridith Sussex   Meredith Sussex AM is an expert on city planning and chair of the Fishermans Bend Ministerial Advisory Committee. She is committed to community engagement in the development and implementation of public policy.
JB  Janet Bolitho is a Fishermans Bend Ministerial Advisory Committee member and an advocate for urban renewal.  A former City of Port Philip mayor, her strong connection with the Port Philip Bay area is expressed through Port Places.
SO  Susan Oliver AM is an entrepreneurial business leader who is deeply committed to the innovation agenda. Her strong commercial and technical skills result from directorial experience of 20+ years. She was recently appointed Wheeler Centre Chair.
cb  Cheryl Batagol has more than 40 years’ experience in the waste management, water and environmental sectors. She is Chairperson of the Environment Protection Authority and has a Public Service Medal for service to sustainability.
The tenure of the Fishermans Bend Development Board ended on the 31 December 2023. For any project related enquiries, please contact the Fishermans Bend Taskforce at

Ministerial Advisory Committee

An independent Ministerial Advisory Committee was formed in 2015 to advise the Minister for Planning on Fishermans Bend and the committee has now concluded their work.

Public administration leader Meredith Sussex was the chair of the committee, which also included the Lord Mayor of the City of Melbourne, City of Port Phillip Mayor Bernadene Voss and a panel of leading experts and community representatives:

  • Lucinda Hartley – urban renewal, design and community engagement expert
  • Michelle Howard – social infrastructure, strategic and statutory planning expert
  • Eric Keys – integrated transport planning expert
  • Rob McGauran – architecture, urban design and housing expert
  • Janet Bolitho – community representative and former mayor of City of Port Phillip
  • Helen Halliday – community representative, former City of Port Phillip councillor and Fishermans Bend Network member
  • Mark Woodland - director, Echelon Planning
  • Phil Spender – community representative and local businessman.

The committee was tasked with producing reports to provide independent advice on the planning and the future of Fishermans Bend as the Taskforce progressed through the planning process.

Our Documents page contains reports from the Ministerial Advisory Committee.

Page last updated: 15/01/24